What influences children’s intellectual development most?


According to a study published in the journal Child Development, it’s the combination of a family’s economic resources (aka income) and quality parenting that together influence a child’s intellectual development.

The study, conducted by the Center for Research on Culture, Development and Education in New York University, suggests that early childhood and parent education programs look at the combination of family income and parenting quality and offer services to address both. “Strengthening the quality of parenting should also include services aimed at improving family literacy and education, reducing parental stress, and providing high-quality child care,” says the study’s lead researcher Julieta Lugo-Gil in an article in Science Daily.

In other words, higher income does not necessarily equate with higher quality parenting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What influences children’s intellectual development most?

  1. MARLENE HJERTSTEDT says:

    HI, MAY NAME IS MARLENE HJERTSTEDT, I’M 49 YEARS OLD. I LIVE IN FALLON NEVADA, A VERY SMALL COMMUNITY. I WORKED FOR FOUR YEARS FOR CHURCHILL COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT FOR THE EVEN START FEDERAL PROGRAMS AS A FAMILY ADVOCATE FOR THE HISPANIC COMMUNITY. I LOST THAT POSITION DO TO LACK OF COLLEGE I DID NOT HAVE A ASSOCIATE DEGREE, I STILL DO NOT HAVE IT. WELL AFTER WORKING WITH CHILDREN BABY SITTING , EVEN START, AND WORKING IN DAYCARES, I DECIDED TO OPEN A SMALL DAYCARE OF MY OWN. I’M APPLYING FOR THE PERMIT AND LICENSES TO BE OPEN IN ABOUT TWO MONTHS OR LESS. I NEVER LIKE THE CURRICULUM THAT THE DAYCARES I USE TO WORK FOR ARE USING, I WILL LOVE TO IMPLEMENT THE PARENTS AS TEACHER CURRICULUM, PLEASE HELP ME, WHAT DO I NEED TO DO?
    SINCERELY, MARLENE

Comments are closed.