Lunchtime musings


I had lunch with a “new” old friend the other day. Heather and I went to high school together but haven’t been in touch since. This summer a reunion brought us back together and after discovering we had a lot in common, we vowed to renew our old friendship. So over pear and Gorgonzola pizza we caught each other up.

Heather works for an alternative school for middle and high school students who, for a variety of reasons, cannot work within a traditional classroom setting. As she was describing for me the types of challenging backgrounds these kids have I was astounded. I was equally astounded at the cost of tuition. Not all are private pay; many are referrals from the public school districts in the area who must pay the cost of educating their students. I kept wondering how many of these kids might be in a different place if their parents had had better support when these children were young.

About half of all Missourians with kids under 5 have been in Parents as Teachers. But what about the other half? Some will make it on their own, no doubt. But some will also find their way to Heather’s school.

