The Art of Juggling……um, I mean Parenting!


On Monday there was a letter to the editor in the Wall Street Journal about the juggling act called parenting. This resonated with me on many levels. I am a parent of 17 and 14 year old boys. Life is a constant juggling act in our house. I thought it would get easier as they got older……but don’t buy into that line like I did. It doesn’t. Finding time to “do it all” is an ongoing battle. I must admit that I’ve done the “work-life blend” described in the article…taking work to my boys’ ballgames now and again. The wake –up call for me came in the next sentence of the article “It would certainly not be business-like to bring laundry to fold during Friday morning meetings at work.” WOW! How true is that? Our kids are important! They deserve at least the same attention we give to our jobs and careers. No more work on the sidelines for me.

 

The article goes on to talk about the ongoing need in our country for parent education and support programs that are available, affordable, and “normalized”, to help parents with the juggle of home life and work life. Parents as Teachers is one program that offers families support from the birth of their child until that child goes to kindergarten. If you do have a Parents as Teachers program in your community, take advantage of all they have to offer. If you don’t, find out how to bring this needed service to your community by visiting the Parents as Teachers website.

 

What do you find most difficult in the juggling act called parenting?

