Living social online: who’s in and who’s out?


Social networking can be addictive. I know because I’ve just recently dipped my toe into Twitter only to find there’s no shallow end: it’s either all or nothing! After all, the whole premise behind social networking is…well, being social. I’ve just whittled away a perfectly good Saturday scurrying around Twitter and Facebook meeting some really interesting and highly entertaining folks.

Just as I was beginning to wonder who isn’t online, Twittermoms connected me with this: Motherhood and Social Media Go Together: Report. According to new research from BabyCenter, one of the Internet’s most well-known parenting communities, two-thirds of moms use social media regularly. Now they’re not all using it for socializing, mind you. It’s often a resource for finding recos on products, services and recipes.

What I’m wondering about, though, is the other third. Are they not “social” because they don’t want to be or is it lack of skills, knowledge or access that keeps them away from the Internet? How are they finding what they need? Where is their parenting community?

Social media’s a great tool, but it doesn’t have all the answers. Share your thoughts here or with me on Twitter @psimpso.

