We get letters!


Dear Parents as Teachers,

Rose Boersma

I have a confession to make: I went to Parents as Teachers training in November thinking the focus would be on me:

  • How will the new Parents as Teachers focus affect my day to day job?
  • What changes will I need to make?
  • What do I need to learn?
  • How will I implement the new curriculum? 

After using the new Parents as Teachers approach with families for the past couple of months, I have had an epiphany! This isn’t about me at all!

The new approach is about supporting families, really supporting their growth and wellness. It is about who each family is, their unique goals and dreams as a unit and for their children. It is about celebrating the small (and large) victories with families that they have accomplished.

All I can say is, I am incredibly thankful to be part of an organization that is evolving as an even greater support for the health and well-being of families and children. As it has been said: as goes the family, so goes society.

~ Rose Boersma
Alberta, Canada

