25 truths about me


  1. I was born in Missouri.
  2. I’m not really 25 years old. (Shh…I’m actually pushing 30!)
  3. I’ve had four homes in my lifetime. (First at UMSL, then on Olive in Olivette, next on North Lindbergh in Creve Coeur, and now on Ball Drive in Maryland Heights)
  4. I’ve been headed by just four people…two of them for 10 years each!
  5. I’m the product of a 1984 statutory mandate to provide parent education and family support services to all Missouri parents.
  6. My first name was New Parents as Teachers (NPAT).
  7. In 1985 I changed my name to Parents as First Teachers. But now I just go by Parents as Teachers.
  8. After residing statewide in Missouri, my first move out of state was to Ohio, Texas and Connecticut. Now I have homes in all 50 states as well as seven other countries.
  9. Some people consider me Missouri’s best export!
  10. I received a prestigious Innovations in State and Local Government Award from the Ford Foundation and the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.
  11. I first traveled internationally when I moved to Australia and Great Britain in 1991; the next year I moved to New Zealand.
  12. First Lady Barbara Bush visited me in 1991.
  13. I’ve testified before the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee in Congress.
  14. I was chosen as one of the “10 Children’s Charities That Deserve Your Support” by Parents magazine.
  15. I was also selected as one of the Best Nonprofits to Work For in a nationwide poll.
  16. The families served by my local affiliates speak more than 100 different languages!
  17. One of my first champions was a 45-year-old first-time father named Governor Kit Bond.
  18. I care about children. All children. That’s why my vision is “All children will learn, grow and develop to realize their full potential.”
  19. I’m one of only nine to receive the federal designation of “evidence-based home visiting model.”
  20. My Heroes at Home programs supported thousands of families at military installations across the country.
  21. I’ve worked with the U.S. Department of Education, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Defense, and Bureau of Indian Education.
  22. A well-known researcher says about me, “…by starting at birth, Parents as Teachers starts at just the right time.” So proud!
  23. During my lifetime I’ve helped millions of children start school healthy, safe and ready to learn. Wow!
  24. My secret wish: I’d love to have a big birthday bash for my 30th birthday in 2014!
  25. I love it when parents share stories about me! [Share your story here.]

 

Some of my children

 

